Carter Volkswagen Customer Reviews

ReviewsLocalDealerRaterEdmunds.comFacebookGoogle+Insider PagesYahoo
5202 Leary Ave NW Seattle WA 98107
237 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us

  • Tue Oct 3 2017
    Hi, i read your bloog occasionally and i own a simioar one and i was just wondering if yoou get a lot of spam responses? If sso how do you protect agaainst it, aany plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it's driving me mad soo any assistnce is very much appreciated. http://www.redeki.com/image-carousel-post/
  • Tue Jun 20 2017
    Just picked up my new car from Bill Koch in Ballard and the experience was amazing! Tks Bill! You are the best!!!!!!
  • Tue Jun 6 2017
    Worst car I've ever had. It's a lease and I've had to have to towed twice, and brought in for service multiple times, my tire indicator light has stopped working twice now not letting me know I had tire issues and since they put discontinued tires on my car, I had to spend $1200 for all four. The beater I drove with 270k miles I had i high school had less issues. Here I am with another flat tire, indicator light didn't tell me again, and a parking brake that doesn't work. Every time I call not even one person says I'm sorry that'. Zero help at all. Also didn't get the loaner car that comes with my lease twice because it wasn't available. Awful service.
  • Wed May 31 2017
    No Comment
  • Wed May 17 2017
    No Comment
  • Sat Apr 29 2017
    I bought a used car from Carter VW and it had a mechanical issue almost right away. They had it towed at there expense and fixed the problem free of charge. They were understanding, friendly, and treated me with the utmost respect. Its easy to claim you care about your customers but these guys really back it up! Customer for life.
  • Sun Apr 16 2017
    I Will never purchase or lease a vehicle from this dealership again, found that they lac customer service skills. My wife and I leased a car from them and were told a lie at initial lease to find out at the end of the lease. Your better off taking your business elsewhere. There a bunch of Lieing manupulative salesman. If you do go there don't work with Zachary clements. hi was rude And inconsiderate spoke to my wife and I infront of his whole service department. both my wife and I work in the customer service industry and the situation should have been handled interially different in our opinion. If I could I would give them negative stars.
  • Thu Apr 13 2017
    No Comment
  • Tue Apr 4 2017
    If you like VWs Carters is an excrllent place for finding cars and good service_ Bart, Emily and Patrick are very reliable service writers.
  • Fri Mar 10 2017
    Patrick just bailed me out with my locking lug nut SNAFU. Thank you for the good old fashioned "helping a guy out" service! 👍
9 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Local Reviews

  • Cole
    Tue Oct 3 2017
    Hi, i read your bloog occasionally and i own a simioar one and i was just wondering if yoou get a lot of spam responses? If sso how do you protect agaainst it, aany plugin or anything you can suggest? I get so much lately it's driving me mad soo any assistnce is very much appreciated. http://www.redeki.com/image-carousel-post/
  • Trish Gale
    Sat Jul 13 2013
    FANTASTIC EXPERIENCE!!! Ryan Driscoll was our sales rep. and was OUTSTANDING! Being from Bellingham we did 95 percent of the deal over the phone. Ryan was stellar from our initial phone call until my folks signed on the dotted line and drove off the lot. He has great communication skills, integrity, and follow through. The entire transaction was seamless from start to finish. Thank you Carter VW, and Ryan. Our family will be back! The Gale Family
  • Jay G
    Thu Jul 4 2013
    I love my new car, thanks Ryan!
  • Antonia Greene
    Thu Jun 27 2013
    We love our new VW Sportswagen! Our salesperson, Ryan was a good match for us - not the typical “car salesman” persona, but knowledgable, personable, and enthusiastic, without putting pressure on us at all. Buying a new car is stressful, but the friendly atmosphere at Carter VW helped to make the experience a relatively pleasant one. Only suggestion would be to have a representative show us the controls, sophisticated bells and whistles during the wait time, not just as we are ready to drive off the lot. We were exhausted by then and couldn’t absorb much. Maybe show customers on another car while waiting for their car to be released. Otherwise, we had a great experience, and would recommend either Ryan or Cresta to anyone looking for a VW.
  • Janet
    Tue Jun 25 2013
    A friend of mine told me about a young man working for Carter named Ryan. He said that he was very knowledgeable and never pushy. When and if I can afford a car, I will be looking for him. Thank you
  • Caroline
    Tue Jun 25 2013
    Ryan Driscoll is a new salesman at Carter, and, boy, was I lucky enough to have his help when I bought my new awesome Jetta Sportwagen TDI. He knows EVERYTHING about VWs, and is super friendly and helpful. He has called me twice since the purchase to check in and make sure everything is running ok. Compared to other experiences in the past with other car salesmen (not at Carter), Ryan is a breath of fresh air and Carter is lucky to have him! I will be back in the fall to buy another vehicle with my boyfriend, and hopefully Ryan will be able to help us out again. Everyone at Carter has been especially helpful, but Ryan has really stood out among all the rest. I would recommend asking for him specifically if you are in the market for a VW - new or used.
  • Will
    Tue Jun 25 2013
    Just recently moved to Seattle from the East Coast. Wanted to trade in my Jeep for a smaller car now that I am in the city. Ryan was super helpful in answering questions, showing me Carter's used inventory, and helping get the price that I thought was reasonable for trading in my Jeep. He allowed me to make the decision, rather than being pushy and aggressive in an attempt to get a sale. After buying my new GTI from Carter, he followed up with me to see how I was enjoying my new car. Very professional service and definitely a positive auto-buying purchase.
  • Ashley Pickens
    Tue May 28 2013
    Sorry I did not mark my rating. See my comments above.:)
  • Ashley Pickens
    Tue May 28 2013
    Just bought my third VW from Carter. I have had nothing but great service from them. I now live on the eastside but drive into Ballard to both service and buy my cars. Everyone is friendly and helpful and you feel like you are spending your money with a family business that really cares about it's customers and the local community.
3 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on DealerRater

  • Cnewman123
    Sun May 31 2015
    Great people. I felt very comfortable and they explained everything to me. I was a little stressed but they were very patient. Ended up with a good deal. I would highly recommend them to anyone. CN
  • megs8605
    Wed Jan 23 2013
    Extensive online research for a used car lead me to Carter Volkswagen. I found a low-mileage, beautiful, used 2002 Volkswagen listed on Carter's online inventory. I contacted Jonathan Fredericks to schedule a test drive. I was met with friendly and helpful customer service. When I asked for Carfax and maintenance documentation, I was given a very thorough report. I was very impressed with the quality and look of the car and was able to purchase it the same day within a few hours at a price that was unbeatable!! All of the horror stories I have heard over the years about the general "dealership experience" were COMPLETELY contradicted through my experience at Carter Volkswagen. The sales and finance staff walked me through the car-buying process thoroughly and patiently. I never felt pressured or rushed to make a decision!! Even after discovering that the heater in the car was blowing cold a couple days later, Jonathan met with me to confirm the problem. He even scheduled a complimentary diagnosis and service, even though I had purchased the car "as-is" without a warranty. In addition, and in the meantime, I was given a loaner car for two days while my car was being serviced. The heater problem was solved quickly and I drove away, yet again, a very happy customer!! I look forward to future/return business with Carter Volkswagen and will recommend them to all of my friends!!
  • bob1234
    Fri Jul 30 2010
    Carter they do some good work even they are only a saab independent work shop now.They still do a fantastic good of working on peoples cars and great customer service but they are on the pricey side.The service quality has been great over the years. In and Out of warranty. Over 8 years, the car has taken its share of knocks and they've seen to it that it comes back spiffy.And, they are still in Civilization. They aren't located out in some Auto-ghetto in Fife or Bellevue. They are right in Ballard, with the people and the restaurants. What more could one ask?
9 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Edmunds.com

  • GTIBuyer
    Tue Mar 18 2014
    I recently bought a car from Carter VW after getting an online quote. I negotiated the price via email with their Internet Sales department after making initial contact through Edmunds. My salesperson very quickly gave me his best price out-the-door. He was very straight-forward and knowledgeable about the car, the local market and other dealerships. My experience with the very down-to-earth salesperson was refreshing after everything I had read about car buying. The prompt and honest communications combined with Carter's reputation for an excellent service department is what sealed the deal even though I had several other dealers willing to match their offer. My Salesman picked me up from Downtown Seattle, and once I was at the dealership I was in and out in under 2 hours, including the test drive. The price we agreed upon via email was the price I paid. There were no hard sells, no last minute surprises, none of the shenanigans I had expected after researching car sales. After my initial purchase, Carter has been excellent with follow up communication and I have already scheduled my first 30 day inspection. I am stunned to be saying this, but buying a new car was actually fun! I wholeheartedly recommend Carter VW.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • GTIBuyer
    Tue Mar 18 2014
    I recently bought a car from Carter VW after getting an online quote. I negotiated the price via email with their Internet Sales department after making initial contact through Edmunds. My salesperson very quickly gave me his best price out-the-door. He was very straight-forward and knowledgeable about the car, the local market and other dealerships. My experience with the very down-to-earth salesperson was refreshing after everything I had read about car buying. The prompt and honest communications combined with Carter's reputation for an excellent service department is what sealed the deal even though I had several other dealers willing to match their offer. My Salesman picked me up from Downtown Seattle, and once I was at the dealership I was in and out in under 2 hours, including the test drive. The price we agreed upon via email was the price I paid. There were no hard sells, no last minute surprises, none of the shenanigans I had expected after researching car sales. After my initial purchase, Carter has been excellent with follow up communication and I have already scheduled my first 30 day inspection. I am stunned to be saying this, but buying a new car was actually fun! I wholeheartedly recommend Carter VW.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • erikn206
    Fri Nov 15 2013
    Email this dealership and you'll get the best service and a fair price. I've bought two cars here and I'm hooked. Don't go to University Volkswagen and Audi. The reason they offer lattes and a fancy showroom is that they'll rob you blind. The extra drive to Ballard is worth it. Email and make an appointment for the best service and no-nonsense sales people.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • erikn206
    Fri Nov 15 2013
    Email this dealership and you'll get the best service and a fair price. I've bought two cars here and I'm hooked. Don't go to University Volkswagen and Audi. The reason they offer lattes and a fancy showroom is that they'll rob you blind. The extra drive to Ballard is worth it. Email and make an appointment for the best service and no-nonsense sales people.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • bancho
    Wed Aug 25 2010
    I recently traded in my wife's 2008 Scion xB for a 2010 Golf. Donielle greeted us as we arrived on the lot and immediately helped us locate the exact car we wanted (color and options). They didn't have the car on their lot, but even though it was Sunday they were able to get the car immediately from a nearby dealership and have it prepped for us while we had lunch and my wife did some shopping. The whole process was smooth and simple. They gave me what I wanted for my trade and I got the Golf for a reasonable price at 0% interest. Their finance guy thoroughly explained all the possible protection/warranty packages, but wasn't pushy about them when I elected not to purchase any (I really appreciated this). After this experience, I would certainly buy another vehicle from this dealer and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to friends in search of a car. The car is great and my wife is thrilled with it. Thanks Donielle! On an unrelated note, the brand new Golf cost me less to insure than the 3 year old xB. Who knew?
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • bancho
    Wed Aug 25 2010
    I recently traded in my wife's 2008 Scion xB for a 2010 Golf. Donielle greeted us as we arrived on the lot and immediately helped us locate the exact car we wanted (color and options). They didn't have the car on their lot, but even though it was Sunday they were able to get the car immediately from a nearby dealership and have it prepped for us while we had lunch and my wife did some shopping. The whole process was smooth and simple. They gave me what I wanted for my trade and I got the Golf for a reasonable price at 0% interest. Their finance guy thoroughly explained all the possible protection/warranty packages, but wasn't pushy about them when I elected not to purchase any (I really appreciated this). After this experience, I would certainly buy another vehicle from this dealer and wouldn't hesitate to recommend them to friends in search of a car. The car is great and my wife is thrilled with it. Thanks Donielle! On an unrelated note, the brand new Golf cost me less to insure than the 3 year old xB. Who knew?
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • eastsider
    Wed Jul 25 2007
    I bought my 2006 SAAB SportCombi from Carter in Seattle. I would NEVER again buy a car from them. I had already made up my mind what I wanted and which car. I wanted to drive it. I was given a 6 cylinder to drive rather than the 4 cylinder I wanted. He pointed out the cool shift paddles - the 4 cylinder didn't have those nor was I interested in them. He spent a lot of time selling the overpriced paint protection and ding guards. He summed up by saying that it was very important that I give all positive feedback on the sales experience so that he could get a good bonus for the sale. I was to get a discount and he wrote a figure on a piece of paper and then kept the paper. When the paperwork was done for a lease I looked at it overnight and the figures were higher than I had been expecting. I called the next day (before any paperwork was submitted for financing) and asked to change to a purchase. They were reluctant but after I insisted and was going to call GM they allowed me to purchase the car (my down was $5,000). When I arrived the finance person I had spoken with was busy and I was given another person who handed me the paperwork and announced that he was in a hurry. I rushed through the paperwork - that was the idea signed it and was out. I love the car but this was the lousiest experience I have ever had with a car dealer. No matter how much I want a SAAB in the future they will never get another sale from me. I will avoid them like the plague.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • eastsider
    Wed Jul 25 2007
    I bought my 2006 SAAB SportCombi from Carter in Seattle. I would NEVER again buy a car from them. I had already made up my mind what I wanted and which car. I wanted to drive it. I was given a 6 cylinder to drive rather than the 4 cylinder I wanted. He pointed out the cool shift paddles - the 4 cylinder didn't have those nor was I interested in them. He spent a lot of time selling the overpriced paint protection and ding guards. He summed up by saying that it was very important that I give all positive feedback on the sales experience so that he could get a good bonus for the sale. I was to get a discount and he wrote a figure on a piece of paper and then kept the paper. When the paperwork was done for a lease I looked at it overnight and the figures were higher than I had been expecting. I called the next day (before any paperwork was submitted for financing) and asked to change to a purchase. They were reluctant but after I insisted and was going to call GM they allowed me to purchase the car (my down was $5,000). When I arrived the finance person I had spoken with was busy and I was given another person who handed me the paperwork and announced that he was in a hurry. I rushed through the paperwork - that was the idea signed it and was out. I love the car but this was the lousiest experience I have ever had with a car dealer. No matter how much I want a SAAB in the future they will never get another sale from me. I will avoid them like the plague.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
  • eastsider
    Wed Jul 25 2007
    I took my car in for its first "servicing". I had been led to believe at the point of sale that I would get free servicing for 3 years. Actually, I found that I get 3 servicings. The first one was used up by the first "servicing" - an oil change. I have two left. I will use them for the larger full servicing - I hope. On the phone I was promised a time and that the car would be serviced and washed. When I picked up the car (on time) the car had not been washed. It would not have mattered had they not definitely mentioned it on the phone. Other than the 2 free servicings I have left I will take my car to a third party garage for care from here on out.
    This is a visitor review and does not constitute the opinion of Edmunds.com
Edmunds.com Visitor Vehicle Ratings and Reviews are the property of Edmunds.com, and may not be reproduced or distributed without the consent of Edmunds.com. Edmunds® is a trademark of Edmunds.com, Inc. Edmunds.com, Inc. is not affiliated with this website or app.
48 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Facebook

  • Lindsay Brabank
    Tue Jun 6 2017
    Worst car I've ever had. It's a lease and I've had to have to towed twice, and brought in for service multiple times, my tire indicator light has stopped working twice now not letting me know I had tire issues and since they put discontinued tires on my car, I had to spend $1200 for all four. The beater I drove with 270k miles I had i high school had less issues. Here I am with another flat tire, indicator light didn't tell me again, and a parking brake that doesn't work. Every time I call not even one person says I'm sorry that'. Zero help at all. Also didn't get the loaner car that comes with my lease twice because it wasn't available. Awful service.
  • Claudette Boudreaux
    Wed May 17 2017
    No Comment
  • Sergey Yeremeyev
    Mon Jan 16 2017
    No Comment
  • Adam Jang Fleischer
    Sun Aug 14 2016
    I bought my used beetle there last September, and it immediately had electrical problems, alternator problems and required $3000 in repairs. In the meantime, I had the oil changed, and they stripped to bolt so that the oil tank cannot be opened and I cannot get my oil changed until I purchase a new tank. By FAR the worst experience I have had at any retailer. Will never go back.
  • Karen Davis
    Sun May 22 2016
    No Comment
  • Matt Gray
    Sat Jan 30 2016
    It's gone way down hill over the last few years. The service staff has poor communication and lack good customer service skills. They don't provide regular updates on status or completion times.
  • Lameka Harris
    Tue May 26 2015
    Memory bank, I've been a car fan for millions ... and it just seems like there is no hope in being success-full with receiving role calls on newbies.
  • Sally Groeschel
    Thu Feb 12 2015
    Best dealership in town! Great service, very attentive employees, and always thorough. Wouldn't go anywhere else!!
  • Dw Larson
    Sat Dec 20 2014
    No Comment
  • Diane Clements
    Wed Dec 3 2014
    We've bought 8 VWs from Carter over the years and they are far and away the BEST! Love those guys.
146 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Google Places

  • Fernando Henrique
    Tue Jun 20 2017
    Just picked up my new car from Bill Koch in Ballard and the experience was amazing! Tks Bill! You are the best!!!!!!
  • LegendaryGamer07
    Wed May 31 2017
    No Comment
  • freddie monroe
    Sat Apr 29 2017
    I bought a used car from Carter VW and it had a mechanical issue almost right away. They had it towed at there expense and fixed the problem free of charge. They were understanding, friendly, and treated me with the utmost respect. Its easy to claim you care about your customers but these guys really back it up! Customer for life.
  • Daniel Canivet
    Sun Apr 16 2017
    I Will never purchase or lease a vehicle from this dealership again, found that they lac customer service skills. My wife and I leased a car from them and were told a lie at initial lease to find out at the end of the lease. Your better off taking your business elsewhere. There a bunch of Lieing manupulative salesman. If you do go there don't work with Zachary clements. hi was rude And inconsiderate spoke to my wife and I infront of his whole service department. both my wife and I work in the customer service industry and the situation should have been handled interially different in our opinion. If I could I would give them negative stars.
  • Antonio Bagala
    Thu Apr 13 2017
    No Comment
  • Kerry Fitzgibbons
    Tue Apr 4 2017
    If you like VWs Carters is an excrllent place for finding cars and good service_ Bart, Emily and Patrick are very reliable service writers.
  • David W
    Fri Mar 10 2017
    Patrick just bailed me out with my locking lug nut SNAFU. Thank you for the good old fashioned "helping a guy out" service! 👍
  • Zac Kurtis
    Sun Feb 19 2017
    I had nothing but good experiences with staff. Unfortunately, the building and facilities are seriously lacking. I use to find it low key sorta quaint but it's not OK anymore. Hanging out in Goodwill is more upscale than their guest waiting area.
  • Bill Quigley
    Mon Jan 30 2017
    No Comment
  • Rajit Jain
    Tue Jan 24 2017
    No Comment
16 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Insider Pages

  • Bruce D
    Thu Mar 15 2012
    This is the 2nd car we have purchased from Heath Bower - he is great. Simply put, he provides his best price up front (no games), doesn't insult your intelligence, is very organized, and really knows the product line. Our most recent…
  • Bruce D
    Thu Mar 15 2012
    This is the 2nd car we have purchased from Heath Bower - he is great. Simply put, he provides his best price up front (no games), doesn't insult your intelligence, is very organized, and really knows the product line. Our most recent…
  • Craig S
    Mon Sep 20 2010
    My wife and I had a very good experience at Carter VW dealership. John Lamm, our salesman, was very nice, knowledgable, and professional explaining the lease contract for the 2010 Jetta which we decided to buy. Anyone interested in…
  • Craig S
    Mon Sep 20 2010
    My wife and I had a very good experience at Carter VW dealership. John Lamm, our salesman, was very nice, knowledgable, and professional explaining the lease contract for the 2010 Jetta which we decided to buy. Anyone interested in…
  • Seth T
    Fri Sep 17 2010
    I recently worked with Leighton Russell to get a 2011 Tiguan. I was immediately allowed to test drive one, and when my wife and I called back to say we wanted one they immediately got the ball rolling. We were back that afternoon and i…
  • Seth T
    Fri Sep 17 2010
    I recently worked with Leighton Russell to get a 2011 Tiguan. I was immediately allowed to test drive one, and when my wife and I called back to say we wanted one they immediately got the ball rolling. We were back that afternoon and i…
  • cathy j
    Thu Sep 2 2010
    I had a wonderful experience shopping for a new car with Bill Stutzman at Carter Volkswagen. My friend had purchased a car from him 2 years ago and had a great experience so I went to Bill. He is the reason why I purchased a VW. He was…
  • cathy j
    Thu Sep 2 2010
    I had a wonderful experience shopping for a new car with Bill Stutzman at Carter Volkswagen. My friend had purchased a car from him 2 years ago and had a great experience so I went to Bill. He is the reason why I purchased a VW. He was…
  • Bernard B
    Thu Aug 26 2010
    I recently traded in my wife's 2008 Scion xB for a 2010 Golf. Donielle greeted us as we arrived on the lot and immediately helped us locate the exact car we wanted (color and options). They didn't have the car on their lot, but even though…
  • Bernard B
    Thu Aug 26 2010
    I recently traded in my wife's 2008 Scion xB for a 2010 Golf. Donielle greeted us as we arrived on the lot and immediately helped us locate the exact car we wanted (color and options). They didn't have the car on their lot, but even though…
6 Reviews

What People are Saying About Us on Yahoo! Local

  • Ian J.
    Sun Oct 26 2014
    I just had a fantastic experience purchasing my 2015 GTI from Leighton Russell at Carter Volkswagen. Came late Monday night for a test drive; told Leighton I wasn't interested in anything else at... more
  • Angela D.
    Mon Aug 18 2014
    I bought my Jetta here and had a great experience! But what made me write this review was when I brought my Jetta in for repairs.A friend had pulled the outside door handle right off my car! I... more
  • shoe l.
    Mon May 26 2014
    Please see my reviews of University and Kirkland VW as well for some context.My VW GTI I leased from Kirkland VW was up for its first maintenance. University VW is dead to me and Kirkland is too... more
  • Shamrock
    Tue Apr 30 2013
    When I bought a car from Carter I got a 6 year service warranty to go with it. They said it was good for service anywhere. This turned out to be a lie. Near the end of the warranty I started to leak oil and Carter on 3 different occasions said they couldn t find the source. After taking it to an independent shop I learned it was the head gasket. After the shop called the warranty people, they were told only Carter could fix it. Carter fixed it only after I showed them statements IN WRITING as to the problems. I ll NEVER go back.
  • LawLady
    Fri Nov 21 2008
    All the Carter dealearships are the best! VW, Saab, and Subaru. I've purchased all 3 from them, and their service is hands down the best. They never try to screw you. They may be the last honest car dealership out there. I always feel comfortable buying at Carter.
  • Jonathan
    Sat Jul 15 2006
    I was afraid to go to a big dealer in 2004 and purchase a car. After 2 years of business with them, I can tell you that they are the best way to deal with your car problems, bar-none. They have saved me with warranty repairs and loaner cars that repairs shops and other smaller dealers don't offer. Satisfaction has been their concern and I will always be a customer of theirs if this is the way they'll always do business.